(b)rush

you can paint this morning
fresh out of your dreams
if you want, my love

you can paint the lines of your hand
onto my face and glaze them
so they know your name

you can draw me with my eyes closed
if you can
and know what i’m thinking before i even tell you

you know i always knew

you can run and you can hide
i can forget and pretend i’m fine
if i could
if i could…

but the best fruit grows under the sun
so i turn another page
when i run out of space
between my fingers

you can sing
and i can play
we can make music
and dance upside-down

you can tell me again
how fierce and yet how soft
if you still Love Me
don’t just assume i know

Leave a Reply

