All in “the family.”

Dear friend,

How are you? You won’t believe what happened just now. He called. From the same number he’d call us from — the “Restricted” number. I thought it would be my aunt trying to keep track of her daughter as if I were her fucking babysitter and said that she wasn’t here and she then hung up, but no — it was him… He then called again, asking specifically for me. Let me say that it’s been over a year since I gave up calling him to keep things in good terms, like he assured me he wanted. I remember then that he said he wouldn’t let anybody speak badly of me, and yet he did the complete opposite. And not just him. You know who else “running things” now has been saying that I “retired,” that I “wasn’t teaching” anymore (she wishes). The kind of gossip and drama you and I had a chance to sample in all those years we were both a part of their “elite” (what a fucking crock), the kind that you only hear about the O and the C that apparently has lost a G since (I saw that coming and I’m glad I was far away when it did).

I had no idea what to say, but words just flowed. The whole conversation went in Portuguese (makes you wonder if somebody else was around… remember that?). He apologized for saying falsehoods about me, saying that at the time the twins had been lying to everyone, and that eventually it came to light what had really happened and that I didn’t deserve what he did to me and said about me. I told him that I have written proof of everything that went down, and that my decision to leave had nothing to do with that as much as what direction the group was taking and my disillusion with it all and yeah, I didn’t deserve my leaving being justified with scandals that he himself helped twist and spread and I had enough. He apologized again and I told him that he didn’t need to, that he didn’t have anything to do with what happened with the twins and that I was happy where I was, away from that environment. He then mentioned taking action like he did with the original golden boys from the other half, B and P. Remember? I said that he could do whatever he wanted to what he finished by saying that if I ever needed his support that I just had to call.

Come to think of it, I do need one last favour from him…

PAZ

Leave a Reply

